More On Hop Growing


Not much brewing going on at the Koehler Brewery, but there’s plenty of watering hop plants. Three of the original 8 plants have sprouted, 2 Centennials and 1 Newport. I’m glad I got at least one of each of them to grow so that I’ll have some variety available to me for brewing come fall. I’d have been disappointed if I ended up with all the same hops. Here’s what the largest Centennial plant looks like about week after it first broke thorough the soil.

I brought the plants that sprouted to work. It’s easier for me to water them here during my breaks and there’s definitely more sunlight than there is at home. Once they get big enough, I’m going to put some stakes in the ground next to the pots and run some hop twine up the side of an old silo we have at work. The plants should get tons of sun and have lots of room to grow. I guess the only drawback is that I need to keep them in pots so I can remove them at the end of the season. I’ll have to water them and supply them with nutrients regularly, but that just gives me a brewing related activity to keep me busy everyday, so I definitely don’t mind. It’s not like I was going to be able to plant them in the ground at home either. Our backyard is sort of under development at the moment, so it probably won’t be until next summer that things are in order back there. Anyway, a huge thanks to Oman for allowing me to keep my hops at work this summer.

In a more ridiculous development, I got 8 more hop rhizomes; 4 Cascades and 4 Willamettes. I couldn’t pass up some free rhizomes. These rhizomes are much more variable in size than the ones I planted already. There are a number of smaller rhizomes in the bunch. My plan is to plant then 2 to a pot instead of individually. I already have enough pots. Here’s a picture of the Willamettes. I’m trying to do a better job of including pictures on this blog. I always have my cell phone with me, so I’m not sure why I haven’t added more.


The white sprouts are on the right. The instructions that came with my other hops recommended planting the rhizomes horizontally (like they are shown) about 1 inch deep unless you know which side will sprout. If you do, you can plant the rhizome vertically with the sprouts facing up. These rhizomes are already sprouting, so I’m planning on planting them vertically this morning during a break.

Finally, I came across this picture of a hop farm in Germany. Awesome stuff. Oman might not be that happy if I made the office look like this, but it I think I have enough plants to make it happen. Ridiculous.

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

